Escaping the Job you Love to Hate – Part 2

Hey …. I have been lost in the vortex of thought-it-tude.

I had promised a part-two post on how to free yourself, from work you hate, almost a month ago.

https://survivaltipsfor21stcentury.wordpress.com/2015/05/08/you-are-successful-and-a-have-a-good-job-but-you-hate-your-life-what-then/

And truthfully, I am the best and worst person to answer this question.  The thing is, I am allergic, absolutely, to any sort of toxic or soul-taxing work situation or environment.  And I have been trying to wedge myself back into the 9 to 5 existence, with lackluster vigor – in the form of temp employment for about a month now.  But one thing I know about myself, is that I have become far more accustomed to living bare bones, with the benefits of freedom of thought, movement and time, than I have become to playing the role of a 9-2-5er.  Try as I might, I can’t get up the gumption or gusto to do what I need to do to succeed in that world.

And truthfully, I am the best and worst person to answer this question.  The thing is, I am allergic, absolutely, to any sort of toxic or soul-taxing work situation or environment.  And I have been trying to wedge myself back into the 9 to 5 existence, with lackluster vigor – in the form of temp employment for about a month now.  But one thing I know about myself, is that I have become far more accustomed to living bare bones, with the benefits of freedom of thought, movement and time, than I have become to playing the role of a 9-2-5er.  Try as I might, I can’t get up the gumption or gusto to do what I need to do to succeed in that world.

NOTE TO SELF – When I am working against my grain, I deplete my life force and the creative strengths I have to realize the life I am meant to live! (Hence the lack of writing this past month)

I never loved money or security enough to stay in a place where I wasn’t respected, or didn’t feel fulfilled in some way, enough to sign away a third of my total life, and a half of my waking life.  I have a restless spirit and have always seen through the smoke and mirrors of what society promises are the “goodies” of devoting oneself to working at a “good job” or even a “steady” job.

What most people who live in a safe and predictable lifestyle don’t understand – and what keeps them tied to a particular situation – is that human beings can get accustomed to practically ANYTHING, even bad things.  What does this mean?

What this means – is you are evolutionarily capable of getting “used” to practically anything if you put your mind to it.  You can get used to being bored and stressed in exchange for a steady paycheck, just as easily as you can get used to the challenges of breaking free from the job you hate.  It is just a matter of time and commitment to change.

motivational-work-quotes2

Human beings came to dominance on this planet, for good or ill, due to their ability to cope with life-threatening and altering situations, and creatively problem-solve their way through them.  They didn’t evolve just to sit in an office cubicle, or follow corporate policies, or serve arbitrary goals of a market-driven society. They evolved to create and participate in the world, at a level far beyond what most bosses want from them or envision for them.

Face it, most bosses don’t want you to be smarter than them, nor to have any priorities beyond your allegiance to them and their company values.  This is great if you are in alignment with your company culture and values, but often many people are not.

Truthfully, the way that work world is set up in the U.S. and other parts of the world, is that employees are supposed to kiss the feet of their employers for having the “pleasure” of trading their services in for dollars.  Yet, often the services are woefully under-valued in the market-place, or over-valued in some cases. (See models and media stars and wall street brokers)  For instance, there has been a blossoming of all sorts of online companies such as 99designs, Design guru, Elance, fiver. and PurpleWall, among a few, that rig up a system that exchanges valuable labor for free or on the cheap, so that the company can profit, and the customer can get away with practically cheating people of their talents and services.

So how do we navigate through this hostile territory, where going after our career dreams seems like it could be a fool’s errand?

1)  Inspiration and wisdom from people who know the ropes –

  • Michelle Ward of http://www.whenigrowupcoach.com/books/ who has taught two wonderful classes on this subject on CreativeLive.com.  The most recent being “Ditch Your Day Job.”
  • Sean Ogle – who has a website and an online program devoted to guiding people toward successful freelance careers that can allow you to work from any old where in the world – http://www.seanogle.com/
    • Both of these folks walk their talk and have good value for little cost to offer.
  • CreativeLive.com as mentioned previously offers a wealth of material, free and/or low-cost that is given by role-model creative professionals and entrepreneurs who are living out their career dreams.

Our deepest fears are like dragons guarding our deepest treasure.

~ Rainier Maria Rilke

2) Find support – One of the most difficult things about going out on your own, forging a new career path of any kind, is all the doubts that come with this.  As human beings, we have an amygdala – the part of the brain that warns us of danger – and this is a good thing.  But in the lives of most of us, the amygdala, from lack of having tigers, and famine to warn us about, goes overboard on warning us about things such as trying new things with our lives.  Surely there are risks in starting a new career, but for the most part they aren’t life threatening.  To break through the fears, it helps to be part of a supportive community of some kind. There are a number of  social media sites that offer a good community.  One that I have found to be generally helpful is – https://www.entheos.com and if you buy any of Michelle Ward’s products there is a wonderful facebook group you can gain access to.  Another social media site that I have found to be supportive is https://disqus.com

3)  Create positive rituals that chip away at the TODO lists – One thing I heard recently from Bonnie Christine http://www.goinghometoroost.com/tag/bonnie-christine/ , that inspired me – is that “it only takes 10 seconds of courage” to do many of the things that we need to do to push ourselves beyond our comfort zone toward our dreams.  I was an in-studio student in her class – Design, Print and Build Your Portfolio – https://www.creativelive.com/courses/design-print-and-build-your-portfolio-bonnie-christine, and she is truly a great role model for the sweet, shy people out there who have great passions within.  Rituals and habits are practices that allow us to incorporate action into our lives with less resistance.

motivational-work-quotes1

4)  And to build a sustainable foundation for your future career- one has to be realistic.  Starting a savings program, AND, starting to downsize expenses are a good ways to prepare for a solo or entrepreneurial venture, whether it is on your own or with others.  Time and again, people have mentioned mint.com as a great app for managing one’s personal finances.  I have downloaded the app, and it is on my list of TODO’s as a thing to learn and implement.

PS – This list isn’t necessarily in order, nor sequential.  These are all on-going tasks that need some sort of maintenance as you go along.

5) Gain experience and credibility.  I mentioned disparagingly the elance, 99designs, etc. websites as places that depress the market value of creative work generally. BUT, you can use them to your advantage.  If you are just starting out, they do give you an opportunity to stretch your legs and find your way in a new field.  If you look at them as paid internships, or as free opportunities to get your work noticed out in the vast world of interwebs – then go for it. And you can use this experience for a future portfolio of work.  Even better than selling your skills for next to nothing for random folks is volunteering your services to nonprofits in need – Check out https://www.catchafire.org/.

So that is it for now, kids.  Good luck and be on your merry way!

motivational-work-quotes3

4 thoughts on “Escaping the Job you Love to Hate – Part 2

  1. What a great list of resources! Thank you!!
    (And I love the Rilke quote. I’m going to post that one where I see it often!)

    1. Thanks so much for the attention : ) I have been checking out your blog and the beautiful jewelry. At this moment I am trying to figure out what to purchase from your Etsy shop : )

      1. Thanks so much! I’m delighted to hear that you like my work. The kintsugi metaphor for life has meant so much to me, so I’m always delighted to hear that others like it too.

Share your thoughts : )

